The 58th Cheshire Community Pride Competition, Congleton Town Hall

PUBLISHED: 00:00 09 December 2014

Kerry Bannon (centre, holding the plaque) and the delegation from Church Minshull celebrating the Village's Community Spirit Award

Kerry Bannon (centre, holding the plaque) and the delegation from Church Minshull celebrating the Village's Community Spirit Award


Community spirit in towns and villages around the county was celebrated when residents met to hear the results of the annual Community Pride awards

Congleton Town Hall was buzzing with excitement when local residents gathered for the 58th Community Pride Competition, organised by Cheshire Community Action. The awards honour individuals, towns and villages throughout the county who have demonstrated commitment to their town or village or impressive citizenship. Guests at the ceremony included the high sheriff of Cheshire, Susan Sellers, parish councillors and Graham Evans, MP for Weaver Vale, who gave a talk about life in the House of Commons.

Sandbach took the prestigious Overall Championship award for Best Kept Village/Market Town. Judges said the town was a very deserving winner with a strong community whose members work hard to make Sandbach a vibrant place to live. Sylvia Batty, community pride coordinator said: ‘The judges are not looking for the prettiest village, or the one with most floral decorations. They want to see evidence that residents care about keeping the village/market town a pleasant, attractive place to live, and Sandbach proved this.’

Sandbach representatives received a plaque and cheque from Ian Cotton of Essar Oil UK, who sponsor the competition. Mr Cotton said: ‘It is fantastic to see the enthusiasm from volunteers across Cheshire who are striving to maintain and enhance their villages and towns to make them more vibrant and attractive to residents and visitors.’

Church Minshull took the Community Spirit award, and Tilston was the runner up. Highly commended in this category were Hatton in Warrington, Malpas and Tattenhall.

Christleton won the Community Safety award, sponsored by Cheshire Constabulary. It was presented by Mark Roberts, assistant chief constable, who also gave the Young Person’s Good Citizen award to Grace Bamber, of 2nd Weston Guides, Runcorn.

The Little Gem award proved popular and 29 certificates were presented. This rewards any area or artefact in a village, which shows special care and attention. The community champion award went to Sean Jones of Tilston, with highly commended awards to Kerry Bannon of Church Minshull, Ron Beever of Hatton, Dick Macaulay of Sandbach and Naomi Higson of Warmingham.

Latest from the Cheshire