12 photos that capture the true beauty of Three Shires Head

PUBLISHED: 00:00 25 May 2018

Three Shires Head by Lucy Evans

Three Shires Head by Lucy Evans


A picturesque spot is the meeting point of three counties.

The Three Shires Head is located in the Peak District and is the point where the three counties of Cheshire, Staffordshire and Derbyshire meet.

The pretty location on Axe Edge Moor is famous for the 18th century packhorse bridge and mini waterfall which is a feature of the River Dane which flows from its source in the Peak District and weaves its way through the eastern edge of Cheshire.

The Three Shires Head has become a popular location for walkers and photographers as much of this section of the Peak District has many well visited walking routes in the vicinity.

You can view a selection of walks in each respective county in the links below.

10 walks in and around the Cheshire Peak District

6 walks in and around the Staffordshire Peak District

Read more about the Peak District in general on Derbyshire Life

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Latest from the Cheshire