6 ISSUES FOR £6 Subscribe to Cheshire Life today click here

Restaurant review - The Chilli Banana, Wilmslow

PUBLISHED: 00:00 19 February 2014 | UPDATED: 10:02 20 April 2016

The Chilli Banana, Wilmslow

The Chilli Banana, Wilmslow

not Archant

Ray King reviews a local favourite that’s recently opened in Wilmslow

Massaman Curry Massaman Curry

Just beside our table in the Chilli Banana’s recently opened new restaurant in Wilmslow, a collection of oars were pointing towards the ceiling...reminiscent, we thought, of a more sedate form of sailing than that etched indelibly on the memory from our time in Bangkok. With Mrs K screaming ‘slow down!’ to a completely oblivious skipper, the long tail boat batted down the Chaophraya River at what felt like 40-50 mph, past temples and waterfront hotels, towards the pier for the Mandarin Oriental.

So what has any of that to do with Water Lane Wilmslow (despite the watery coincidence)? Well, the chances are that without our introduction to Thai cuisine in the Chilli Banana the best part of 20 years ago - when the nascent restaurant was located in the long-demolished Royal Oak pub in Alderley Edge - we may never have ventured to Thailand in the first place. For food was, and remains, a major factor in our travel destinations and we’ve visited Thailand several times to enjoy it.

After 16 years at the King’s Arms, half a mile out of town (now occupied by a branch of Phantong Thai), the Chilli Banana’s move to what used to be Felicini’s, a spacious and modern two-storey restaurant in the centre of Wilmslow, marks a significant step up for owners May and Steve Wakefield. Over the years they have opened branches in Macclesfield (the Merchants House pub) and in Liverpool (in a quiet suburban street), but the new location and its bigger scale is set to be another story.

The couple’s imported artefacts from Thailand - not least 3,000 hand-made bricks which support the neat bar area and the theatrical, buzzing, open kitchen - and the suspended lanterns lend an atmospheric feel, but theming is not overdone and the dining areas boast a smart contemporary look.

The menu reflects May’s style of traditional home cooking laced with new ideas stemming from the couple’s annual eight-week sojourns in Thailand, from where herbs and spices are imported twice a week. This was nowhere better illustrated than Mrs K’s starter of Mieng Pla Tuna (£6.95) - crispy baskets filled with the freshest sashimi tuna salad with betel leaves and an aromatic dice of lime and lemon zest, dressed with palm sugar. The zingy flavours sang with fresh, keen notes - sweet, sour and clean chilli heat, the hallmarks of authentic Thai cooking - just delicious. I began with thoroughly enjoyable Nua Det Deow (£6.95), strips of rump steak, marinated to lovely tenderness and served with chilli and garlic dipping sauce.

My main course was a cracker too, so apparently simple but herbed and spiced by experts. Pad Prik Sot (£11.95) brought a stir-fry generously populated by big, firmly fleshy and succulent king prawns sautéed with fresh red chillies, onions and sweet basil; flavours all in superb harmony. I partnered it with excellent Goyteow Plow (£3), plain flat noodles fried with fresh bean sprouts. Mrs K noted that all four featured curries on the menu - green, red, Penang and Massaman - featured chicken, pork or beef, but it was no trouble for the Chilli Banana to rustle up a Penang curry with king prawns (£11.95). The shellfish were the same classy beings as came with my stir-fry, this time luxuriating in a rich and silky southern Thai curry with coconut milk and lime leaf. A simple portion of steamed fragrant rice (£2.50), served in a lidded glass dish, was all it needed. Presentation and service, from an east-meets-west front of the house team including Steve Wakefield himself, was impressive throughout.

We rounded off by sharing the Chilli Banana’s signature pudding - chilli banana (£4.50) - irresistible banana fritters topped with sweet chilli sauce and served with ice cream. We drank fresh, citrussy Urmeneta Sauvignon Blanc from Chile for a reasonable £17.50 a bottle and it was commendable to find an alcohol-free lager listed among the cocktails, spirits, beers and liqueurs.

The Chilli Banana, 71 Water lane, 
Wilmslow, SK9 5BQ. 
Tel: 01625 539100.
 www.chillibanana.co.uk

More from Food & Drink

Tuesday, July 10, 2018

We may not want to be part of Europe any more but who doesn’t enjoy a bit of continental al fresco dining when the sun makes an appearance? Here are six chic places on your doorstep to dine in style while grabbing some rays.

Read more
Cheshire Restaurants Manchester Restaurants
Tuesday, July 10, 2018

Putting the spotlight on retailers whose business is an important part of the community

Read more
Wednesday, July 6, 2016

Tattu offers a sensory dining experience from east to west in Manchester city centre

Read more
Manchester Restaurants Asian Food Spinningfields
Wednesday, July 4, 2018

Kate Houghton reviews the latest restaurant to bring creative fine dining to Manchester, The Rabbit in the Moon.

Read more
Manchester Restaurants
Monday, July 2, 2018

The judges of Cheshire Life’s Food & Drink Awards unveil their shortlist for this year’s event, with the winners to be declared at a glamorous black tie ceremony at Carden Park Hotel on July 16th.

Read more
Thursday, June 28, 2018

Baking and biking is a new way of life for former teacher Matt Townley, from Hale. He invites you to rise to the challenge.

Read more
Tuesday, June 26, 2018

Afternoon tea has grown in popularity as a summer pastime, here are a selection of some of the best on offer across the county and surrounding areas.

Read more
Tuesday, June 26, 2018

Senior sous chef, 23-year-old Cyril Gabriel wins prestigious award

Read more
Friday, June 22, 2018

Digest this mini review in 60 seconds

Read more
Malpas
Friday, June 22, 2018

Manchester House restaurant is a high point of the region’s dining scene, in more ways than one, as Janet Reeder discovers.

Read more
Manchester Restaurants Spinningfields
Monday, June 18, 2018

Eat ice cream on a hot sunny day and gaze at the cows

Read more
 
Great British Holidays advert link

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Our Privacy Policy

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Subscribe or buy a mag today


Local Business Directory

Cheshire's trusted business finder

Job search in your local area



Property Search