<div style="display:inline;"> <img height="1" width="1" style="border-style:none;" alt="" src="//googleads.g.doubleclick.net/pagead/viewthroughconversion/1028731116/?value=0&amp;guid=ON&amp;script=0">
6 ISSUES FOR £6 Subscribe to Cheshire Life today click here

Restaurant review - The Chilli Banana, Wilmslow

PUBLISHED: 00:00 19 February 2014 | UPDATED: 10:02 20 April 2016

The Chilli Banana, Wilmslow

The Chilli Banana, Wilmslow

not Archant

Ray King reviews a local favourite that’s recently opened in Wilmslow

Massaman Curry Massaman Curry

Just beside our table in the Chilli Banana’s recently opened new restaurant in Wilmslow, a collection of oars were pointing towards the ceiling...reminiscent, we thought, of a more sedate form of sailing than that etched indelibly on the memory from our time in Bangkok. With Mrs K screaming ‘slow down!’ to a completely oblivious skipper, the long tail boat batted down the Chaophraya River at what felt like 40-50 mph, past temples and waterfront hotels, towards the pier for the Mandarin Oriental.

So what has any of that to do with Water Lane Wilmslow (despite the watery coincidence)? Well, the chances are that without our introduction to Thai cuisine in the Chilli Banana the best part of 20 years ago - when the nascent restaurant was located in the long-demolished Royal Oak pub in Alderley Edge - we may never have ventured to Thailand in the first place. For food was, and remains, a major factor in our travel destinations and we’ve visited Thailand several times to enjoy it.

After 16 years at the King’s Arms, half a mile out of town (now occupied by a branch of Phantong Thai), the Chilli Banana’s move to what used to be Felicini’s, a spacious and modern two-storey restaurant in the centre of Wilmslow, marks a significant step up for owners May and Steve Wakefield. Over the years they have opened branches in Macclesfield (the Merchants House pub) and in Liverpool (in a quiet suburban street), but the new location and its bigger scale is set to be another story.

The couple’s imported artefacts from Thailand - not least 3,000 hand-made bricks which support the neat bar area and the theatrical, buzzing, open kitchen - and the suspended lanterns lend an atmospheric feel, but theming is not overdone and the dining areas boast a smart contemporary look.

The menu reflects May’s style of traditional home cooking laced with new ideas stemming from the couple’s annual eight-week sojourns in Thailand, from where herbs and spices are imported twice a week. This was nowhere better illustrated than Mrs K’s starter of Mieng Pla Tuna (£6.95) - crispy baskets filled with the freshest sashimi tuna salad with betel leaves and an aromatic dice of lime and lemon zest, dressed with palm sugar. The zingy flavours sang with fresh, keen notes - sweet, sour and clean chilli heat, the hallmarks of authentic Thai cooking - just delicious. I began with thoroughly enjoyable Nua Det Deow (£6.95), strips of rump steak, marinated to lovely tenderness and served with chilli and garlic dipping sauce.

My main course was a cracker too, so apparently simple but herbed and spiced by experts. Pad Prik Sot (£11.95) brought a stir-fry generously populated by big, firmly fleshy and succulent king prawns sautéed with fresh red chillies, onions and sweet basil; flavours all in superb harmony. I partnered it with excellent Goyteow Plow (£3), plain flat noodles fried with fresh bean sprouts. Mrs K noted that all four featured curries on the menu - green, red, Penang and Massaman - featured chicken, pork or beef, but it was no trouble for the Chilli Banana to rustle up a Penang curry with king prawns (£11.95). The shellfish were the same classy beings as came with my stir-fry, this time luxuriating in a rich and silky southern Thai curry with coconut milk and lime leaf. A simple portion of steamed fragrant rice (£2.50), served in a lidded glass dish, was all it needed. Presentation and service, from an east-meets-west front of the house team including Steve Wakefield himself, was impressive throughout.

We rounded off by sharing the Chilli Banana’s signature pudding - chilli banana (£4.50) - irresistible banana fritters topped with sweet chilli sauce and served with ice cream. We drank fresh, citrussy Urmeneta Sauvignon Blanc from Chile for a reasonable £17.50 a bottle and it was commendable to find an alcohol-free lager listed among the cocktails, spirits, beers and liqueurs.

The Chilli Banana, 71 Water lane, 
Wilmslow, SK9 5BQ. 
Tel: 01625 539100.
 www.chillibanana.co.uk

0 comments

More from Food & Drink

Two mavericks of the food and drink world collided with beautiful results at The Art School, Liverpool, writes Rebekka O’grady.

Read more
Friday, January 12, 2018

Sheridan’s The Rivals was the first ever production at Manchester’s Royal Exchange Theatre. The 1976 staging starred Tom Courtenay and Patricia Routledge and heralded a golden era of exceptional theatre in Manchester.

Read more
Manchester Restaurants
Thursday, January 11, 2018

Digest this mini review in 60 seconds

Read more
Cheshire Restaurants Pubs and Bars
Friday, January 5, 2018

Putting the spotlight on retailers whose business is an important part of community life

Read more
Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Just back from the jungle, Jennie McAlpine on missing her family and serving tea fit for a queen. Mairead Mahon reports

Read more
Afternoon Tea Manchester
Friday, December 29, 2017

Gin tasting is increasing in popularity across the country, we round up some of the best events across Cheshire. Some of these events sell out fairly quickly, but the organisers do often host multiple events throughout the year.

Read more
Gin
Friday, December 29, 2017

Our guide to some of the best food events in the county throughout 2018

Read more
Things to do in Cheshire Summer in Cheshire
Thursday, December 28, 2017

PAmpering and Prosecco were on the menu at the fabulous five star Lowry Hotel - the occasion? An exclusive Cheshire Life luncheon with a difference.

Read more
Cheshire Life Luncheon
 
Great British Holidays advert link

Newsletter Sign Up

Sign up to the following newsletters:

Sign up to receive our regular email newsletter

Topics of Interest

Food and Drink Directory

Subscribe or buy a mag today

Cheshire Life Application Link

Local Business Directory

Cheshire's trusted business finder

Job search in your local area



Property Search